Eighteen Area Youth Receive Cailloux Foundation Scholarships

May 3, 2012

KERRVILLE— Eighteen high school graduates from the Hill Country have been chosen to receive scholarships from The Cailloux Foundation (the Foundation) of Kerrville, Texas. The Foundation established The Cailloux Foundation Scholarship Program in 2000 to benefit graduating seniors from selected Texas Hill Country high schools.

The 2012 recipients have been chosen from high schools in Center Point, Comfort, Fredericksburg, Harper, Ingram, Junction, Kerrville, Mason, Medina, Nueces Canyon, and Utopia. Awards are up to $14,000 per recipient annually and are for undergraduate study only. The scholarships are renewable for up to four years for a maximum multi-year award of $56,000 per student. Scholarship recipients attend four-year public or private colleges or universities in Texas. The 2012-2013 program will have 62 freshmen through senior level students participating as scholarship recipients.

The 2012 scholarship recipients include Amanda Weaver and David Guthrie from Center Point High School; Jensen Gary from Comfort High School; Kendra Jones from Fredericksburg High School; Bailey Baethge from Harper High School; Catherine Rene Stout from Ingram Tom Moore High School; Rachal Katerle and Dalton Schulze from Junction High School, Samantha Jordan from Mason High School; Brennan Fertig from Medina High School; Brittany Cox from Nueces Canyon High School; Augustus Arbogast, Lauren Collins, Zachary Foust, Jamie Jenschke, and Clair O’Neal from Tivy High School; Jennifer Gutierrez from Our Lady of the Hills Regional Catholic High School; and Alex Dibbens from Utopia High School.

The applicants met or exceeded a minimum Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) score requirement of 1022, or a minimum American College Test (ACT) score of 22. They also have a minimum grade average of 85 and are in the top one-third of their class. Scholarship applications were made available to any interested senior graduating from an eligible high school and meeting the academic and financial eligibility requirements. Eligible high schools include Bandera High School, Big Spring Charter School near Leakey, Center Point High School, Comfort High School, Fredericksburg High School, Harper High School, Ingram’s Tom Moore High School, Junction High School, Leakey High School, Mason High School, Medina High School, Nueces Canyon High School near Barksdale, Our Lady of the Hills Catholic High School in Kerrville, Rocksprings High School, Tivy High School in Kerrville, and Utopia High School in Utopia. The scholarship application was available on the Internet through the Foundation’s website for any eligible student from November 1, 2011 through February 1, 2012.

Final selection of recipients for the scholarship awards were overseen by International Scholarship and Tuition Services, Inc. (ISTS) of Nashville, TN. ISTS utilized standard comprehensive recipient selection procedures in making the final selections including the consideration of past academic performance, financial need, statement of career goals, educational aspirations, work experience, unusual personal or family circumstances, leadership skills, participation in school and community activities, recommendation letters, and an essay.

“We have increased the awards from $12,000 to $14,000 per year” said Ben Modisett, Assistant Executive Director for the Foundation, “Providing financial assistance to these deserving students, especially at a time when the cost of higher education is increasing dramatically every year, is very important to the Foundation.” he added.

The End


The 18 recipients of the 2012 scholarships

Browse all student images
Click for larger versions & names