College Scholarships for $56,000 Each Awarded to 18 Area Students

May 8, 2013

KERRVILLE— Eighteen high school graduates from the Hill Country have been chosen to receive scholarships from The Cailloux Foundation (the Foundation) of Kerrville, Texas. The Foundation established The Cailloux Foundation Scholarship Program in 2000 to benefit graduating seniors from pre-selected Texas Hill Country high schools.

The 2013 recipients have been chosen from high schools in Bandera, Center Point, Fredericksburg, Harper, Ingram, Junction, Kerrville, Mason, Medina, and Rocksprings. Awards are up to $14,000 per recipient annually and are for undergraduate study only. The scholarships are renewable for up to four years for a maximum multi-year award of $56,000 per student. Scholarship recipients attend four-year public or private colleges or universities in Texas. The 2013-2014 program will have 63 freshmen through senior level students participating as scholarship recipients enrolled at 20 institutions of higher learning in Texas.

The new scholarship recipients for this year include Ellen Hevenor, Kelsie Karnes and Chrysta Smith from Bandera High School; Taelyr Evans and Tyla Evans from Center Point High School; Jacob Dittmar, Joseph Moellering and Michael Moellering from Fredericksburg High School; McKenzie Carmack from Harper High School; Fred Tally-Foos from Ingram Tom Moore High School; Vincent Atchison from Junction High School, Lorri Ann Drazan from Mason High School; Keara Harrison from Medina High School; Chase Smith from Our Lady of the Hills Regional Catholic High School; and Emma Barnebey from Rocksprings High School; as well as Logan Erickson, Jesus “Jesse” Hernandez, and Derrick Ruiz from Tivy High School.

The applicants met or exceeded a minimum Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) score requirement of 1022, or a minimum American College Test (ACT) score of 22. They also have a minimum grade average of 85 and are in the top one-third of their class. Scholarship applications were made available to any interested senior graduating from an eligible high school who met the academic and financial eligibility requirements. Eligible high schools include Bandera High School, Big Spring Charter School near Leakey, Center Point High School, Comfort High School, Fredericksburg High School, Harper High School, Ingram’s Tom Moore High School, Junction High School, Leakey High School, Mason High School, Medina High School, Nueces Canyon High School near Barksdale, Our Lady of the Hills Regional Catholic High School in Kerrville, Rocksprings High School, Tivy High School in Kerrville, and Utopia High School. Next year graduating seniors meeting academic and financial requirements from the Heritage School in Fredericksburg will also be eligible to apply for the award. The scholarship application was available on the Internet through the Foundation’s website from November 1, 2012 through February 1, 2013.

“We are pleased to be adding the Heritage School to the program next year,” said Ben Modisett, Assistant Executive Director for the Foundation, “Students there will have to meet all of the various eligibility requirements and there is no guarantee that recipients from any of the eligible schools will win scholarships because selections are made at large,” he added.

The selection of scholarship recipients was overseen by International Scholarship and Tuition Services, Inc. (ISTS) of Nashville, TN. ISTS utilized standard comprehensive recipient selection procedures in making the final selections including the consideration of past academic performance, financial need, statement of career goals, educational aspirations, work experience, unusual personal or family circumstances, leadership skills, participation in school and community activities, recommendation letters, and an essay.

The End

The 18 recipients of the 2013 scholarships

Browse all student images
Click for larger versions & names