The Cailloux Foundation Awards 2017 Scholarships

April 3, 2017

KERRVILLE— The Cailloux Foundation (the Foundation) in Kerrville, Texas, has awarded 13 college scholarships to area students. The 2017 recipients have been chosen from high schools in Bandera, Barksdale- Nueces Canyon High School, Center Point, Comfort, Harper, Ingram, Kerrville- Tivy High School, Leakey, Mason, Rocksprings and Utopia. Awards are up to $14,000 per recipient annually and are for undergraduate study only. The scholarships are renewable for up to four years for a maximum multi-year award of $56,000 per student. The 2017-2018 program will have 66 freshmen through senior level students participating as scholarship recipients enrolled in four-year public or private colleges or universities in Texas.

“Three of the scholarship recipients are expected to be valedictorians this year and four salutatorians,” said Ben Modisett, Assistant Executive Director for the Foundation, “It is a great group that includes seven young women and six young men working toward careers in education, medicine, law enforcement, engineering, business and the arts,” he added.

The new scholarship recipients include Trevor Karnes from Bandera High School, Javier Gonzalez from Center Point High School, Bailey Dulas from Comfort High School, Tracy Patterson from Harper High School, Ralph Agulto and Hannah Neutze from Ingram High School, Justyn Tedder from Mason High School, Sofia Rodriguez from Leakey High School, Mason Johnson from Nueces Canyon High School; Pedro Infante from Rocksprings High School, Gabriella Buchanan and Ashton Edgington from Tivy High School, and Haleigh Boyd from Utopia High School.

The applicants exceeded a minimum Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) score requirement of 1022, or a minimum American College Test (ACT) score of 22. They also have a minimum grade average of 85 and are in the top one-third of their class. Scholarship applications were made available to any interested senior graduating from an eligible high school and meeting the academic and financial eligibility requirements. Eligible high schools include Bandera High School, Big Spring Charter School near Leakey, Center Point High School, Comfort High School, Fredericksburg High School, Harper High School, Heritage School in Fredericksburg, Ingram’s Tom Moore High School, Junction High School, Leakey High School, Mason High School, Medina High School, Nueces Canyon High School near Barksdale, Our Lady of the Hills Regional Catholic High School in Kerrville, Rocksprings High School, Tivy High School in Kerrville, and Utopia High School. The scholarship application was available on the Internet through the Foundation’s website from last November through February of this year. The scholarship application will be available for next year early in November of 2017.

The selection of scholarship  recipients was overseen by International Scholarship and Tuition Services, Inc. (ISTS) of  Nashville, TN. ISTS utilized standard comprehensive recipient selection procedures in making the final selections including the consideration of past academic performance, financial need, statement of career goals, educational aspirations, work experience, unusual personal or family circumstances, leadership skills, participation in school and community activities, recommendation letters, and original student essays. Recipients are selected at large based upon these considerations.

The Cailloux Foundation Scholarship Program was created in 2000 to benefit graduating seniors from pre-selected Texas Hill Country high schools. Since the program was established 283 scholarships worth more than 11 million dollars have been awarded by the Foundation. Current news about the Scholarship Program is available at For more information about scholarships or the Foundation contact us.

The End

The 13 recipients of the 2017 scholarships

Browse all student images
Click for larger versions & names